About Us

The Canadian Jewish Holocaust Survivors and Descendants (CJHSD) was founded in 1999 and is a grassroots organization dedicated to advocating on behalf of its members and represents Canadian survivors at the Jewish Material Claims Conference. The CJHSD is an independent organization affiliated with CIJA.

Among CJHSD’s objectives are:

  • To represent and speak on behalf of Jewish Holocaust Survivors with a unified voice;
  • To increase public awareness about issues that concern survivors;
  • To involve children of survivors on issues of importance to the CJHSD;
  • To engage in activities concerning the interest and welfare of Canadian Jewish Holocaust Survivors.


Pinchas Gutter Co-President
Edit Kuper Co-President
Dori Ekstein Vice-President
Arla Litwin Executive Member at Large
Sidney Zoltak Immediate Past Co-President
Nate Leipicger Honourary Past President

Board of Directors

Irene Lilienheim Angelico (Montreal)
Italo Camerino (Montreal)
Howard Chandler (Toronto)
Judy Cohen (Toronto)
Morris Cooper (Toronto)
Rachel Doppelt (Toronto)
Vera Gara (Ottawa)
Mark Groysberg (Montreal)
Estie Kleinfeld (Montreal)
Karen Lasky (Toronto)
Jack Leinwand (Montreal)
Esther Michaels (Toronto)
Cheryl Rosenbaum Shapiro (Toronto)
Toby Saltzman (Toronto)
Marilyn Sinclair (Toronto)
Thomas Strasser (Montreal)
Maia Toivis (Toronto)
Philip Unger (Toronto)
Lucy Verebes-Shapiro (Montreal)
Anne Wajcer (Montreal)
Sharon Weintraub (Toronto)